Broad Street Run–Honeys, I’m HOME!!

In the beginning of May, I not only played a trumpet gig in Center City with my best friend from college Joey Mc, but I also ran the Broad Street Run in Philadelphia. It was one of the most self-satisfying things I have ever done, hands-down. It was FUN to run. Now, granted, I walked more than half of that 10 miles, but I FINISHED and that’s 10 miles more than most people I know ran that day. Although, with 30,000 runners there, I probably saw more people on Broad Street than I actually know. I am so thankful for my running club, the Pineland Striders, because they stuck around until the bitter end when I finished. The one image I can’t get out of my head is the very first downhill, where I looked out over a sea of runners as far as I could see. It was one of the most amazing things I’ve ever done and I hope to do it again next year–ALL of it at a run.

The other amazing part about the Broad Street Run is that it goes through the entire City of Philadelphia, from north to south. I didn’t grow up in Philadelphia, but I’ve always had a soft spot for it. I went to college for three years there and I loved living in the city and my trumpet-playing days. Running through all those neighborhoods, seeing the places from my wilder days and seeing the people along the sides of the street cheering me on was incredibly emotional for me. I know most of those people won’t ever get to see my blog, but I want to thank them, because they kept me going at times when I thought I couldn’t go the whole way. Especially touching were the moments when I saw people with Back on My Feet signs. Last summer, I volunteered to support my friends Amy and Wil in their 24-hour ultra-marathon event, in which they ran as many miles as they could in 24 hours. The money raised from the race is used to help the homeless get back on their feet, and it really makes you think about how helpful that can be to somebody who HAS NOTHING. Seeing people on Broad Street who had been affected by that program made me choke back my tears while I ran. It’s humanity at its best and I am thankful to be a part of it all.

Leave a Reply

